Fire Chiefs of the Department

The Chatham Fire Protection District has had only a few individuals that they have called Chief since the fire protection district was formed in 1928. To date, there have only been ten individuals elected or appointed to this position.

The first Fire Chief of the Chatham Community Fire Protection District was Everett Cary who served in this position for 21 years. Everett Cary also holds the distinction of having the longest tenure as Chief. Gerald Hughes holds the distinction of being the only individual elected twice to be the Fire Chief. He was elected in March of 1979 and served through June of 1984, then again from June of 1992 through June of 1994.

Through the early 1990's the Fire Chief was elected each year by the membership of the department. He in turn appointed his staff officers each year. With the advent of full-time staffing and a new station looming, the Chatham Fire Protection District Board of Trustees removed this process from the membership and appointed their first full-time Fire Chief, Bruce Osborne. Chief Osborne saw the Chatham Fire Protection District through the transition from a volunteer department to a combination department along with the building of our current station.

The Fire Chief's names and their years of service are as follows:

Philip G. Schumer
Oct, 2005 to Aug, 2022

Bruce A. Osborne
Jun, 1994 to Jun, 2005

Gerald M. Hughes
Jun 1992 to Jun, 1994

Michael D. Branham
Jun, 1989 to Jun, 1992

Gerald L. Baulos
Jun, 1984 to Jun, 1989

Gerald M. Hughes
Mar, 1979 to Jun, 1984

Richard B. Estill
Jun, 1978 to Mar, 1979

Russell R. Cloyd
Jul, 1964 to Feb, 1978

Charles W. Nichelson
Jun, 1964 to Jul, 1964

Lester Wiley
May, 1949 to Jun, 1964

W. Everett Cary
May, 1928 to May, 1949